On Being A Ruler

Castle of Vianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFest

If IIIIIII were a ruler in 1090, I would go and find the prettiest landscape around, surrounded by mountains. Then, I’d find a hill (or have one built) and put my castle right on top of it. When the people wanted to come party in my neighborhood, I’d let them build a city at the foot of my hill filled with colorful homes and cobblestoned streets. That probably sounds a wee bit self absorbed, but c’mon, I’m a 1090 ruler. Vanity comes with the territory…literally.

Vianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFest
Vianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFestVianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFestVianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFestVianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFestCastle of Vianden, Luxembourg via MontgomeryFest

2 Comments

Filed under // Day Trips, Luxembourg

2 responses to “On Being A Ruler

  1. I think I would do exactly like you if I were a ruler in the 11th century!!! Pretty story and pretty place.

Leave a Reply

