The Belgian Coast Post

I see that snow post and I raise it with a beach post. This one’s been in the works for a while, I don’t exactly know why, but it makes me really happy, so I’m unveiling it this week when I’m in much need of a vacation…on a beach…with the Croatians.

Vedran and Antonija are expecting little Elza any day now. And can I tell you, I’m stoked. I can’t freaking wait to meet this little girl who is already a big part of our lives. I won’t tell you how I practice holding her because that would be weird. Anyway, all five of us went to the beach back in February. It was the loveliest of lovely days. We started off with homemade American pancakes (from scratch!), then road tripped to the coast because Vedran scheduled for the sun to be there..he has a knack for that. This adorableness is what ensued, so go ahead and fall in love with their little family of 3..

Photo Feb 17, 3 39 56 PMIMG_0669Photo Mar 27, 4 41 32 PMIMG_0659-001Photo Feb 17, 3 50 32 PM

Yep, he did jump. Yep, he did get soaked. | And then Elza got hungry….

Photo Feb 17, 4 33 12 PM Photo Feb 17, 4 37 14 PM

And that’s the last we ever saw of the red beret from France. Also, I’ve decided that Ostend is Little White Dog Central. So, there’s that.

7 Comments

Filed under // Day Trips, Belgium

7 responses to “The Belgian Coast Post

  1. Ostend – so sadly underrated, as is much of the Belgian coast. I could spend months bumbling about the little coastal towns like Blankenberg and Knokke. And one thing I noticed there. Belgians do little dogs (especially in restaurants,where you suddenly spot a muzzle at table level). And they do enormous dogs (mostly on the beach). But where are the medium-sized dogs of Belgium? 😉

  2. pollyheath

    Love that first picture! Makes me yearn for spring and being near a big body of water!

  3. Little White Dog Central made me smile because I know exactly what you mean!
    That little person on the way is going to change everything! How you understand love, the depth of that love and what you’ll do as a human to protect that little person.
    Our little person is the reason I’m trying so hard to be Belgian!

    • Yeah, I’m excited to see how our friends change from hanging out with us and expecting….to becoming parents!! We’re also going through the half and half citizen thing…but we’re not even trying to fit into being Belgian – they’re a very inclusive bunch! I hope you enjoy your new home, just remember – all of the craziness of settling in calms down and it gets better! 😉

  4. Pingback: Why Belgium? | MontgomeryFest

Leave a Reply

